Stott Makes Indoor Squad

With several 'burne players taking time out during the indoor season, there is an unfamiliar look to the Scotland indoor squad for the upcoming internationals against England.

Midfielder Ross Stott is the only Kelburne player named in the 12 man squad.
Scottish Hockey has named the men?s and women?s teams that will travel down to Birmingham to face England at the National Indoor Arena on Monday night.

Both Scottish teams are currently ranked higher than England heading into the two international matches, with the women pushing back at 18:45 followed by the men at 20:00.

Scotland?s senior men?s coach Russell Garcia will be taking some familiar faces from the outdoor squad, such as Stephen Dick (Inverleith), Gavin Byers (Menzieshill) and Allan Dick (Inverleith).  Also taking the court will be experienced indoor specialists who haven?t racked up any indoor caps for Scotland yet, such as Kenny Stibbles (Menzieshill), Michael Ross (Menzieshill) and Chris Wilson (Menzieshill).

Scotland?s men are currently ranked 14th in Europe, two slots ahead of their southern opponents, but standings can be deceiving as England?s ranking has been effected by the fact that they only returned to the indoor game in 2007 after eight years of playing only outdoor.

Tickets are still available through England Hockey for Monday's games.   After facing England down in Birmingham, Scotland host England 18-20 December at the Lagoon Centre in Paisley where tickets will be sold at the gate [£8 for the weekend, £5 per day, U16s and senior citizens get in free].  For more information on the matches in Paisley read the article Indoor Christmas clash.

Scotland senior men?s squad [Surname, first name (club) caps]: Byers, Gavin (Menzieshill) 5; Dick, Allan (Inverleith) 4; Dick, Stephen (Inverleith) 4; Kane, Kris (Western Wildcats) 0; Law, Allan (Dundee Wanderers) 4; MacKenzie, Adam (Inverleith) 1; McPherson, Ross (Menzieshill) 19; Ross, Michael (Menzieshill) 0;  Stibbles, Kenny (Menzieshill) 5; Stott, Ross (Kelburne) 5; Thornton, Andrew (Menzieshill) 9; Wilson, Chris (Menzieshill) 0