Men's 1's Champions again

Men's 1's: 4
Dundee Wanderers: 1

Kelburne went into the game knowing that four points from their remaining 3 games would be enough to secure a 7th successive title. Burne were again short handed as Gareth Hall, Steve Crossett and Lee Morton sat out the game as well as the usual walking wounded.

Burne began the game well and were looking to take the game to Wanderers. A combination of some stubborn defending and good goalkeeping was beginning to frustrate the players as they struggled to breakdown the Tayside resistance. Several chances came and went in open play as well as a couple of short corners. Half time came with the score 0-0.

The message from coaches Ralph and Fowler was for the team to be patient and keep playing the way they had been. Kelburne continued to put the Wanderers defence under pressure in the second half but were again drawing a blank in front of goal. The opening goal arrived with 15 minutes remaining, when a well worked short corner found Michael Christie in space and he was able to deflect the ball into the net.

Burne were now very much on the front foot and were soon 2 up when Gordon McIntyre made a fantastic interception in midfield and fed Johnny Christie, Christie taking the ball in his stride fired the ball home from the edge of the D.
Wanderers were not about to lie down however and were back in the contest moments later when slack play at the back allowed a Wanderers forward to fire past Fulton in goal.
Kelburne were not to be denied and Johnny Christie was able to add his second following a fine move down the right hand side to take the lead in his personal battle with brother Michael for top scorer. Burne were able to add a 4th in the final minutes when a fantastic crossfield pass from Michael Christie was able to find Ian Horsfield unmarked in the D and he was able to score at the second attempt.
With the game finished, Bunre were greeted with the news that Grange had been held to a draw meaning that Kelburne could not be caught. A fantastic acheivement by all of the players and coaches this year to clinch the league for the 7th year in a row.